Want to Break Free?

I want to break free of this time in my life. I know I have written lots lately that is kinda down. It’s not uplifting, cause I don’t feel uplifted. I feel antsy.

Church grates on me. Don’t get me wrong I have found a great church. I love the people there. The fellowship with them personally is awesome. We have a great pastor who preaches the truth and doesn’t pull punches.

But I still feel restless every Sunday. I sit there and feel like I am confined. Like there are some chains on me that keep me in place in the seat at church.

I would much rather be quiet in the mountains. Or canoe in silence over the lake early in the morning and enjoy the silence rather than the noise of daily life.

I need to break free. I want to break free. I listen to that old Queen classic “I want to break free” and my soul resonates with the lyrics.

I need to break free of the lies that are around me. I need to live a life that is for God. I have fallen in love for the first time again with what I need in God and want to drop the crap.

Now I search for the way to do it. Have you broken free?

~ by curtismchale on December 8, 2008.

4 Responses to “Want to Break Free?”

  1. I feel caged as well…and rather be up on top a mountain someplace then be around people much lately

  2. I have a blog of my own where I write about my struggles. I can understand how you feel. At least you have something on me. You go to church. My frustrations with God have kept me from going back in quite some time. But if you don’t mind, I would like to make a point to this post.

    When I read about the feeling of being confined, it made me think. I wonder if you might sometimes forget why you are in Church? I think maybe most all of us would rather be somewhere else than sitting in a church. Playing a sport, fishing, watching a certain show… so on. But I also think that if you really give yourself over to God during the praise, that you will feel glad to be there. Maybe I am wrong, that is just how it seems to me. Another thought I had was that it could easily be demonic oppression. That maybe they are sort of whispering in your ears to make you feel antsy and desire to leave. Hoping to get you to. I would suggest you talk to your pastor and tell him those feelings and have him pray with you. His place is more than just standing up there preaching. If you (one of his flock) is under attack, he needs to take charge of that.

    Well, those are my thoughts. As I said, you are doing better than I with church, so I don’t have much room to talk. Hope you don’t mind me butting in.

  3. Another stranger popping in. I know how you feel. I’m only fifteen. but I’ve been a christian all my life, and am just now getting really connected to god through a new church. I’m having a hard time accepting some of the beliefs and find myself contradicting a lot of things the pastor or sunday school teacher says. I would rather be participating in some sort of seminar about it so i can better learn and understand. But thats just my opinion. and thats why i feel restless at church, I always am wanting to ask questions.
    sorry to creep on your blog haha my blog suggested it

    • It’s good that you’re going and working through the issues. I know when I worked with highschool age people in the church I concerned myself more with helping them direct their searching rather than telling them the right way to believe. Parents weren’t always happy about it but as the saying goes it’s better to teach a man to fish than feed him for a night. Or at least it’s something like that.

Leave a Reply

 
