Radical Jesus 1: North American Sanitization

Today, and for the next few days, I would like to discuss the topic of:

  1. How do we as North Americans view Jesus?
  2. Who was Jesus really?
  3. How do we respond to who Jesus really was?

When you are asked to think of what Jesus looked like what image comes to your head? For me, and I assume most caucasian North Americans, it is a picture of a tall white man in a white robe with a blueclean jesus sash and flowing long hard and a beard. He is walking with children being nice and loving them. He is depicted teaching people, healing people, and everyone around him is similarly dressed in clean nice clothing. He is depicted as clean and loving and friendly. The famous picture of the last supper shows Jesus clean eating with the disciples, who are all clean.

How does this sanitized view of Jesus affect how we do Christianity? I think that this sanitized view of Jesus leads us to a sanitized Christianity. I feel that many churches today have this idea of sanitization permeate throughout their lives. I think of a past post regarding this sanitization. I was asked why I sat with a kid that showed up to church in a leather jacket and had tattoos. My church didn’t want to see the dirty they wanted to see the clean. If you came to church clean then welcome otherwise, go get cleaned up first.

Links:

~ by curtismchale on January 15, 2008.

3 Responses to “Radical Jesus 1: North American Sanitization”

  1. good thoughts, looking forward to the probimg posts

  2. I am as well

  3. […] Jesus 2: The Real Look of Jesus Last time I delt with the view of Jesus that I have seen typical of North American churches and Christians. […]

Leave a Reply

 
