Can You Tell I am a Christian?

What is it that makes one a Christian? I know there is an obvious answer, salvation. To be a Christian one must accept that the only way to heaven is through Christ and accept Him as their personal saviour. Choice makes you a Christian, the choice to follow God and make Him the master of your life. Can anyone tell that you are a Christian though? Can anyone tell that you are a child of Christ, apart from the world? Can anyone tell that you read your bible? Can anyone see the good news in your life?

  • John 13:35:By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.heart
  • Romans 15:7:Wherefore receive ye one another, as Christ also received us to the glory of God.

In John Jesus tells us that people will know that we are His disciples by the love that we have for each other. Romans tells us to receive each other as Christ to the glory of God. Christ sacrificed His life so that we could be received into the glory of God.

So my question to you is this… When a person comes to your church for the first time do they see this acted out? Do they see that you are Christians by the love and respect that you have for each other? Can they feel the love in the building? If they attended a business meeting would they leave knowing about the squabbles over colour in your auditorium or how much you planned to give to missions? For those of us that are married, does your spouse see that you are living with Christ by the love and respect that you treat them with? I know that all too often I fall short of the kind of love that I should be giving to my wife.

~ by curtismchale on January 10, 2008.

4 Responses to “Can You Tell I am a Christian?”

  1. I had a teacher in grade school who taught me something I’ll never forget. You can tell a Christian by how may of the Beatitudes they have lived out in their life, not how many they can quote.

  2. Tis the truth. The salvation we profess is only good to the world if it comes out in our actions.

  3. Thank you, I feel that I miss the mark so often, by so much, finding encourgament is very much needed. at for me.

  4. No problem. Really we all miss the mark, probably more often than we want to admit.

Leave a Reply

 
