God’s Minstry Doesn’t Rest

As I have mentioned before I have a busy life. It is mostly a product of my own doing. I regularlyRoxy and Curtis accept more tasks in my day because I can’t say no. I have been known to work from home to get projects done on a regular basis which means I work 7 days a week on something at least.

I fit recreation and relaxation in at some point in some day, maybe in some minute of that day, but I don’t really take the time to sit and relax on a regular basis. At work I often work extra days which allows my boss to keep overloading me as I will just work more to get it all done.

Now I have heard of this concept called Sabbath but I don’t really practice it in any fashion. Yeah I go to church and relax a bit after lunch but I usually end up working at some point. So what is sabbath? Here is Rob Bell’s definition of Sabbath:

“Sabbath is taking a day a week to remind myself that I did not make the world and that it will continue to exist without my efforts.” pg 117

So what do I have to give up to make this happen, cause truthfully I want a day to rest? To do this I have to stop working from home. I have to stop coming in extra days. I have to stop making myself available to people all hours of the day. If I start to do this I will be able to spend more time with my wife and with God. That is what my priority should be. I need to stop taking my wife for granted. What do you have to give up in your life to actually practice this time of sabbath? Would you really use the time to spend improving your relationship with God and your family? Or would you just find other stuff to add to the day that would take you away from them? Why not at least try to make the effort and see how you can honour God with your time?

~ by curtismchale on December 20, 2007.

One Response to “God’s Minstry Doesn’t Rest”

  1. […] know that I will be taking a break for one week over Christmas. I suppose I will be taking my own advice and am taking a Sabbath. Merry Christmas too all, take your own break damn […]

Leave a Reply

 
