Daily Blindness

This morning I woke up and looked around my room. In it is my wife, my dog, and usually a big mess. That is all I see in the morning. When I get in the car there is my wife again, we work together, and lots of other drivers. At work I see my co-workers.

When I come home and walk the dog, I see my dog and other people. Sometimes if it is raining I don’t see anyone, but often there is at least a few other people walking at night around our neighbourhood. So what haven’t I seen in my day yet? Can you tell what I have missed?

The thing that I haven’t seen in my day yet is Jesus. I don’t know what he looks like, it is always changing, and I really don’t look for him much anyway. What if we woke up each day and did look for him. Tom Davis has a way to start his day:

“I’ve discovered a new way to live. Every morning when I get out of bed, I look for Jesus. No, not because I’ve misplaced him. And I’m not talking about a feeling I get during prayer, or revelation that comes to me while reading Scripture. I’m talking about finding Jesus in the eyes of real people. In the eyes of the poor, the handicapped, the oppressed, the orphan, the homeless, the AIDS victim – the abandoned and forgotten.” (Davis, 20)

Do you do this during the day? Do you really go out looking to see where God is? Or do you wait for God to show up in your day? As Rob Bell says:

I’ve heard people tell stories about something powerful that happened and then at the endVelvet Elvis Book Cover of the story say, ‘And then God showed up!’ As if God were somewhere else and then decided to intervene.
But God is always present. We’re the ones who show up.” (Bell, 78)

~ by curtismchale on December 18, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
