Taking my Spouse for Granted

My wife, is gone for the weekend with work. I usually say that I love to spend time alone. This is true but does not take into account the other things that I love. I love to come home and find my wife around. I love to hear her voice. Most importantly I love to know that she is here when I need her.

The unfortunate point about this realization is that I also realized that most nights I spend my time sitting on the computer. I know that she is in the house so I don’t need to spend time with her because she is there when I need her. Some of you may be wondering what is wrong with this. We already work together and live together so spending time apart doing separate things at night is really not all that bad. I would agree with you that doing things that we each enjoy apart is needed in any relationship, but I also know that my wife desires me to spend more time with her at night when typically I am ‘playing’ on the computer. So while spending time doing things apart is good I need to make an effort to take her into account and spend the time with her that she craves.

There is a host of verses in the Bible that talk about how we are suppose to treat our marriage here is a list of some

  • Proverbs 6:23-29 – stay faithful or pay the price

  • Proverbs 19:14 – good wives are from the Lord

  • Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 – two is better than one

  • Ecclesiastes 9:9 – enjoy life with your wife

  • Amos 3:3 – you have already agreed to walk together

  • 1 Corinthians 7:17 – stay where God has assigned you

  • 1 Corinthians 7:25-28 – trouble will come to marriages

  • 2 Corinthians. 5:9-10 – discusses sexual morality

 

How about you? Does your spouse express desire to spend time with you that you only half-heartedly give? Do you also have a hobby, reading blogs, that keeps your from spending time with the one you love? Better yet does it keep you from spending time with God? This week don’t come back and check to see what is new. Take the week off and spend the time with your loved one and together with God. I am sure that if you make this a habit you will be rewarded in the quality of your relationship with both. Take a look at this wonderful blog as well called Lifeis2Good for insightful tips on being a better spouse.

~ by curtismchale on November 6, 2007.

4 Responses to “Taking my Spouse for Granted”

  1. Hello, you left a comment on my blog Just a girl @ Life with Christ.org….I just wanted to say thank you for stopping by, and let you know that I came here to check out what you’re writing about…must say, that I love it!

    On topic, yes, we take so many of our loved ones for granted, dont we…especially our spouse and our children. I am finding the more I keep my eyes fixed on Jesus, the more I am able to love them the right way…the first Corinthians way.

    Keep up the great thoughts, and would love to see you around my neck of the woods again. Your right, people want comfortable Christianity, not the Truth…and that is so unfortunate!

    God bless you as you continue to seek His face!
    g

  2. Hey – nice to ‘meet’ you. This is right on target. We talk about this alot as there are so many things that can steal our time from the Lord and from each other. I have to be very careful with this. (I use a timer to remind me to stop doing things I can get carried away with…).

    Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Thanks for the endorsement and God bless you and your marriage!

  4. […] with my wife and with God. That is what my priority should be. I need to stop taking my wife for granted. What do you have to give up in your life to actually practice this time of sabbath? Would you […]

Leave a Reply

 
