Velvet Elvis: A Quote Already

Velvet Elvis Book Cover I have started a new book and already, on the first page, found a great chunk that I wanted to share. The book is called Velvet Elvis: By Rob Bell. Here is the passage. I would love to here your comments.

“In my basement, behind some bikes and suitcases and boxes, sites a Velvet Elvis. A genuine, bought-by-the-side-of-the-road Velvet Elvis. And to say that this painting captures The King in all his glory would be an understatement. It’s not the youg Elvis – the thin one with the slicked-back hair in those black-and-white concert photos in which he’s playing a guitar that’s not plugged in. And it’s not the old Elvis – the big one in the shiny cape singing to old women in Hawaii. My painting is the ‘Pre-doughnut Elvis.’

But I think the best part of my Velvet Elvis is the lower left-hand corner, where the artist cimply wrote a capital R and then a period.

Because when you are this good, you don’t even have to write your whole name.

What if, when he was done with this masterpiece, R had announced there was no more need for anyone to paint, because he had just painted the ultimate painting?

The challenge for Christians then is to live with great passion and conviction, remaining open and flexible, aware that this life is not the last painting.”

The quote is chopped up a bit but I think you get the gist. That last line is what I am trying to do. Through this writing I am trying to live my life with passion and conviction in a sinful world while being aware that not all the work has been done in the Christian faith. My learning and life is not yet done.

~ by curtismchale on October 11, 2007.

5 Responses to “Velvet Elvis: A Quote Already”

  1. Nice quote, and excellent attitude on your part.

    I want to live that way too, although I find it difficult. There are some things that we can say are done. May God help us discern which ones are and which ones aren’t.

  2. First, thanks for stopping by my blog today! Hope you’ll find your way back again.

    Secondly, I read this book too! It was a couple of months ago so I don’t remember all the details, but I do remember that I enjoyed it. Maybe I’ll have to pull if off the bookshelf and give it a refresher glance!! 🙂

  3. Hello. I really like how the velvet Elvis and your comment work together.

    I had a question mark in my mind when I read what RG commented, though. I know that Christ said, “It is finished,” but other than His work on the cross, I have the idea or feeling that nothing else is really finished unless God said it was.

    That makes me quite unfinished, and the world, and the whole ever-growing body of all-ness. LOL. All-ness. I just made that up.

  4. just testing a change.

  5. Eve, I feel that my salvation is accomplished and is certain. I have assurance of it. I feel that my indwelling by the Holy Spirit is a completed work, although I must grow in following His inner guidance. I feel that certain issues of sin and temptation are mostly likely put aside forever, while others are still struggles for me. There are certain doctrines that I have definitely learned and do not wonder about or struggle to believe, while others I must still learn or relearn.

Leave a Reply

 
